Insert Chapter 1: Fighting my Demons

Posted: March 22, 2014 in Fighting my Demons
Tags:

I wanted to stand up for myself, but the moment my special illegitimate son stood up, the entire congregation stood up and clapped. The smirk on his face wasn’t one I had seen before, maybe because I never seen myself preach before.

Malcom used his hands to calm the crowd like a pro, then said, “Today, we will speak from the book of Ephesians 6:1-4. “Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.” He held the crowds gaze after speaking these words then followed they eyes as they reached me.

My chest was hollow, my palms sweating and visibly shaken up, but not by my son it was the word of man the was coming out of my son naturally.

He continued, “This is the first commandment with promise.”

The crowd was screaming, my body went limp. My mother was in the front row, and even with dementia, she knows her unwelcome grandson was special. She had a look in her eyes that matched mines. I didn’t want to but I stood up. She did too! Her hands high in the sky screaming the name of God.

“That it may be well with you and you may live long on the earth,” he finished with a look into my eyes that reached deep into my soul. He opened his arms and held the mic up to me. The crowd muffled the words that perched his lips, “See what you started?”

“Thank you!” I mumbled into the mic with a chuckle to clear my throat. Then after taking a sip of my ready water, I finished where my son left off, “And you, fathers, do not provide your children to wrath, but bring them up in the training and admonition of the Lord.” to be continued… 

Leave a Reply

